

## 16<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Jackson County, Missouri

For Release: November 15, 2022 Contact: Valerie Hartman Public Information Officer 816-881-3552

## **News Release**

Kansas City Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission releases information about applicants and interviews for judicial vacancies

The Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission of the 16<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit is releasing the following information about the applicants and the interview process for the judicial vacancies in Division 204 and Division 205 of the Kansas City Municipal Court.

Eleven attorneys, five in private practice and six in the public sector, applied for the positions. All will be interviewed.

The Commission will conduct interviews on November 21, 2022 starting at 8:30 a.m. in Division 6, 6<sup>th</sup> floor, at the downtown courthouse, 415 E. 12<sup>th</sup> Street. The interviews are open to the public.

The following attorneys applied for the positions:

Sara Christensen

Shayla Marshall

Beth Murano

Joseph Nastasi

Jesse Sendejas

Gerald Sorensen

David Suroff

Kendrea White

Ladarron Williams

Christopher Yotz

Brianna Zavadil

The Commission will submit a panel of three nominees to the Kansas City Council. Council members will interview the nominees and appoint a new judge for Division 205.

After the City Council chooses the judge for Division 205, the Commission will meet again, without further interviews, and select a panel of nominees for the vacancy in Division 204.

Judicial openings on the Kansas City Municipal Court are filled in accordance with the State of Missouri's Nonpartisan Court Plan. The City Council has 60 days to appoint one of the nominees. After serving one year in office, the judge will come before the voters in a retention election.

The Kansas City Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission is chaired by Presiding Judge Dale Youngs of the 16<sup>th</sup> Circuit Court, and comprised of attorneys Tracy Spradlin and Christopher Korth, and lay members Phyllis Hardwick and Dale Dan-Irabor.