

16th Judicial Circuit, Jackson County, Missouri

For Release: November 21, 2022 Contact: Valerie Hartman Public Information Officer 816-881-3552

News Release

Commission selects panel for Kansas City Municipal Court judicial position

The Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission of the 16th Judicial Circuit selected a panel of three nominees today for the judicial opening in Division 205 of the Kansas City, Missouri Municipal Court. Eleven attorneys submitted applications and were interviewed in a meeting open to the public. The Commission selected the following panel:

Sara Christensen, Lathrop GPM Shayla Marshall, Missouri State Public Defender Beth Murano, City of Lee's Summit, Missouri

The Commission will submit the panel to the Kansas City, Missouri City Council which will interview the nominees and appoint a new judge.

Judicial openings on the Kansas City Municipal Court are filled in accordance with the State of Missouri's Nonpartisan Court Plan. The City Council has 60 days to appoint one of the nominees. After serving one year in office, the judge will come before the voters in a retention election.

The Kansas City Municipal Judicial Nominating Commission is chaired by Presiding Judge J. Dale Youngs of the 16th Circuit Court, and comprised of attorneys Tracy Spradlin and Christopher Korth, and lay members Phyllis Hardwick and Dale Dan-Irabor.

###