PROBATE PROCEDURES MANUAL

PROBATE DIVISION

OF THE

CIRCUIT COURT

OF

JACKSON COUNTY, MISSOURI

PREFACE

The Probate Procedures Manual was developed by a committee of lawyers, trust officers, paralegals and the Probate Division legal staff. Members of the committee were: Dan C. D. Sturdevant, Edward A. Setzler, Buford L. Farrington, Kathleen A. Forsyth, Robert B. Langworthy, B. John Readey III, Shirley M. Smith, Jacquelin S. Wrede, Kathryn F. Pietarila, Clerk and Counsel Margaret L. Sauer, Commissioner Valarie S. Zeeck and Judge John A. Borron, Jr.

In the middle 1970's, the Probate Court published a set of local rules. These rules became obsolete as a result of The Court Reform and Revision Act of 1979 and the subsequent revisions of the Probate Code and the Guardianship Code. Since 1979, there has been a steady movement to expand the jurisdiction of the probate division. Many innovations have recently been introduced into the general area of probate and trust law, most notably in 1989, with comprehensive revisions of the Transfers to Minors Law, Personal Custodian Law, Durable Power of Attorney Law and the adoption of a Non Probate Transfers Law. The Manual is a response to numerous requests from the Probate Bar for procedural guidelines for practice in the Probate Division.

The Manual was designed and is intended to provide practical information and practice tips for practice in the Probate Division. It is intended as a compliment to and not a substitute for other publications dealing with Missouri probate and trust law. The Manual does not attempt to codify substantive law and should not be relied upon in that connection.

As and when it becomes necessary to revise sections of the Manual, a notice to that effect will be published in the Daily Record and posted in the Probate Division offices in Kansas City and Independence. Revisions may be obtained from the Probate Division offices by applying, in person, therefor. In the interim, notice of critical developments in probate law will be posted in the Probate Division offices.

John A. Borron, Jr. Judge January 1, 1990